Reserve deputy sheriffs must complete a POST-certified basic training course. There are 3 separate courses that are delivered in a modular format for these levels. The training is self-sponsored, meaning the student pays all academy expenses.
Moreno Valley College offers an Entrance Requirements Information Session for self-sponsored students.
Modular training is offered during evening and weekend classes through Moreno Valley College at the Ben Clark Training Center. You must register as a student at MVC to attend these courses.
The Sheriff's Department accepts Modular I final level reserve deputies.
Once you have been appointed as a reserve deputy sheriff, additional required training is provided at no cost.
The Riverside County Sheriff's Department provides a complete uniform and leather gear for reserve deputies assigned to uniformed services, except for shoes and specialized equipment.
If you have been accepted as a reserve deputy and been assigned to a station, you must also complete the department's field training program provided by the station.
Comprehend and retain factual information pertaining to policies, rules, regulations, and laws and accurately apply what is learned; analyze situations and/or data and draw meaningful conclusions leading to a reasonable course of action; effectively communicate both verbally and in writing; establish and maintain effective working relationships with others; meet the physical requirements of a Basic Peace Officer Standard Training (P.O.S.T.) academy.
Graduation from high school, or attainment of a satisfactory score on a G.E.D. test, or possession of a Certificate of Proficiency issued by the California State Board of Education.
Applicants who wear glasses or hard contact lenses must have uncorrected vision of no worse than 20/40 correctable to 20/20. For soft contact lenses being worn for up to one year or more correctable to 20/20, there are no uncorrected requirements. Applicant must have normal peripheral fields and normal color vision.
Applicants must not have hearing loss greater than 25dB in frequencies of 500 to 6,000 in either ear. Hearing aids are not permitted to meet these requirements.
You can take an Introduction to Law Enforcement and Physical Conditioning for Basic Academy Students course through Moreno Valley College. The class meets weekday evenings at the Ben Clark Training Center for one semester. It's a great way to experience academy physical training and to meet training staff.
|At least 20 years & 9 months of age at start of academy|
|Ability to obtain California Driver License|
|U.S. high school diploma or G.E.D., or equivalent|
|Oral & written communications skills|